Help with a tough decision Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ShadowOfAristocles

New

Help with a tough decision

Post by ShadowOfAristocles » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:52 pm

I’m a grad student in a PhD program in philosophy, but I’ve realized that I no longer want to be a philosophy professor/academic and that law is a better career path. I need some help deciding how to make the transition though.

Here is my situation:

-I’m in year 4 out of 5 in my program (though many take 6-7 to finish). I’ve finished all the coursework and have just started work on the dissertation stage.

-I could quit now and walk away with a Masters, but because of my wife’s job, I still wouldn’t apply until fall 2019.

-My motivation to work on the dissertation is very up and down, as I’m no longer committed to philosophy and not super interested in the questions I’m researching, not optimistic that I can find much of use to say about them. I’m worried about what this is doing to my work ethic/habits and that it will mean that I’ll drag out the dissertation work beyond year 5.

- In case it matters, I have a strong academic record and a very good LSAT score, but not much in the extracurricular and volunteering departments

Here is my problem:

-I can’t figure out whether pushing through and finishing the PhD would make me a stronger applicant than quitting, taking the MA, and getting some work experience in a law office for the next couple of years.

Any advice on the relative merits of these two options? Would dropping out of my program make me look like a quitter who can’t handle hard work? Would the PhD give me much of a bump over the MA? Is work experience relevant at all?

Any insight would be much appreciated!

Gregsplanation

New

Re: Help with a tough decision

Post by Gregsplanation » Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:24 pm

I think a PhD would give you a leg up if you wanted future you to teach law. A lot of professors at laws schools have PhDs as well as JDs.