Does working during 2 gap years between HS and college count as work experience? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
MissMusicLaw

New

Does working during 2 gap years between HS and college count as work experience?

Post by MissMusicLaw » Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:34 am

Hello lovely people!
Thank you for taking the time to click on this question.

I graduated HS and delayed my collegiate education for 2 unplanned gap years because I had to earn/save money in order to attend college. I worked for two years as an educational after school program facilitator and counselor for my city’s elementary and middle school system (one of the highest nationally ranked school systems in the country if that contributes to anything). I also (believe it or not) worked as a professional actress (TV/Film).

I am currently a junior in college and I was fortunate enough to get selected during my freshman year to be a member of a clinical program as a student Pro Bono legal adviser at a top 3 Ivy League Law School. Through this program I’m an undergrad on a team with several law students and we represent national clients (professor supervised), in intellectual property & entertainment law matters: copyrights, contract draft/review, patents, trademarks, royalties, publishing etc. I’ve been doing this for my entire time at college and plan on doing so until I graduate.