Which soft should I consider? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Liberal Theory

New

Which soft should I consider?

Post by Liberal Theory » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:29 pm

I'm applying KJD next year. Before I do that though I am taking a look at my futue application so far and, LSAT/GPA notwithstanding, I am trying to determine which soft would look better for applying to T14 schools. I think I know the answer, but it doesn't hurt to run it by TLS first I hope.

I have been working at a large department store chain ever since I began college two years ago for about over 20 hours a week on average. It's the only thing keeping me debt-free through undergraduate.

I am now seriously considering trying out for my university's Moot Court team. They're supposed to be in the top 10 in the country. If I got on their team I would take it seriously and need to devote some serious time to preparing for it and traveling and practicing. It also is supposed to be a good opportunity to rub elbows with real judges and attorneys, most importantly. The caveat to doing this though would require me to basically quit my job though, which would make me take out a few thousand dollars in loans, and perhaps even worse stifle any chance of me making an argument that I have work experience.

I feel like I should keep my job, I'm terrified of debt as it is and I do have a legal internship on my resume, but that's about all I got for relevant experience.

What would you do?

IExistedOnceBefore

Bronze

Re: Which soft should I consider?

Post by IExistedOnceBefore » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:34 pm

Keep your job. Being able to know how to work in the real world, even if it's "just retail" is a unique experience in and of itself that you can spin in applications.

rachelac

Bronze

Post by rachelac » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:14 pm

Last edited by rachelac on Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Platopus

Gold

Post by Platopus » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:25 pm