Gap in resume Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Barack Obama 2.0

New

Gap in resume

Post by Barack Obama 2.0 » Mon May 30, 2016 5:21 pm

I graduated from university in May 2015 and spent the past year travelling and consequently, there is a gap in my resume, will this adversely affect my chances for law school admissions? I plan on applying for law school in the fall and have a job for this upcoming year starting in September. I recently got back from overseas and am currently studying for the LSAT. On the advice of a friend, I took the June 2007 LSAT before I started prepping to gauge any areas of potential weakness/strength and scored a 163, however, I'm aiming for a 180. I intend on writing in September. I plan on applying to all the T-14 schools but really want HYS.

Stats:
URM (AA male)
LSDAS GPA: 4.0+
Softs: some work and several ECs during UG, several scholarships, and other academic related awards
LSAT: TBD
Interesting and eclectic resume.

TLSModBot

Diamond

Re: Gap in resume

Post by TLSModBot » Mon May 30, 2016 5:43 pm

Barack Obama 2.0 wrote:however, I'm aiming for a 180.
First of all, lol @ this (what the hell else do you aim for when taking the LSAT)?

Second, experience post-UG matters far less than LSAT, GPA, and URM status (and roughly in that order). None of your other stuff (eclectic resume etc.) really matters.

A gap year won't hurt you if you have a strong LSAT score, but it won't help you if you have a weak one (and neither would most jobs you could've had instead of that gap time).

Barack Obama 2.0

New

Post by Barack Obama 2.0 » Mon May 30, 2016 5:48 pm

Capitol_Idea wrote:
Barack Obama 2.0 wrote:however, I'm aiming for a 180.
First of all, lol @ this (what the hell else do you aim for when taking the LSAT)?

Second, experience post-UG matters far less than LSAT, GPA, and URM status (and roughly in that order). None of your other stuff (eclectic resume etc.) really matters.