Public interest job for international students? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Tiny123

New

Public interest job for international students?

Post by Tiny123 » Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:43 pm

This might be random, but does anyone know if international students can get public interest job?

My goal was to become a prosecutor, only recently someone told me this might not happen because I am an international student. (Not a permanent resident either)

thanks

Tls2016

Silver

Re: Public interest job for international students?

Post by Tls2016 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:37 pm

This is an interesting question. You need a visa to work here and I don't think government agencies can hire or sponsor you.

DownUnder

New

Post by DownUnder » Mon Apr 04, 2016 6:59 pm

Tiny123 wrote:This might be random, but does anyone know if international students can get public interest job?

My goal was to become a prosecutor, only recently someone told me this might not happen because I am an international student. (Not a permanent resident either)

thanks
0L, so please take this advice with a pinch of salt and feel free to correct me if I am inaccurate in any way.

I am an international student who is going to be matriculating at a US law school in this Fall and I have done some research on this. No citizenship or Green Card either.

My goal is also to become a prosecutor in the states and to the best of my knowledge, the quickest way to this for internationals like us is as follows:

Go to a T-14 ---> Biglaw litigation ----> acquire green card (employment based or through marriage etc) -----> 5 years of relevant practice -----> get the citizenship (you can get citizenship 5 years after getting GC) -----> then apply for DA or AUSA positions.

It is a long shot to say the least but this is probably the only way for the likes of you and me.