How do law schools view a gap in undergrad education? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jamesbond

New

How do law schools view a gap in undergrad education?

Post by jamesbond » Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:04 pm

I think I’m in an unusual applicant situation. I applied for undergraduate graduation from school in 2011, and I walked in our graduation with a few classes to go. Now I know this is normal, but I never completed those courses. I believe I have 116 units out 120 completed. Well, I got a junior paralegal job at a Vault top 25 SoCal firm, and I’ve been working here ever since.

I’m thinking of applying in an upcoming cycle, (obviously after completing the last 4 units), and I’m wondering what type of applicant I’ll be viewed as. Am I considered a non-traditional applicant? Will I get that boost? I have about 5 years of legal work experience, but it’s technically not after undergrad.

Also, this may create an opportunity for me to boost my GPA with more courses, won’t it? Can I take 5 extra classes and raise my GPA because I technically haven’t graduated yet? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

lymenheimer

Gold

Re: How do law schools view a gap in undergrad education?

Post by lymenheimer » Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:29 pm

jamesbond wrote:I think I’m in an unusual applicant situation. I applied for undergraduate graduation from school in 2011, and I walked in our graduation with a few classes to go. Now I know this is normal, but I never completed those courses. I believe I have 116 units out 120 completed. Well, I got a junior paralegal job at a Vault top 25 SoCal firm, and I’ve been working here ever since.

I’m thinking of applying in an upcoming cycle, (obviously after completing the last 4 units), and I’m wondering what type of applicant I’ll be viewed as. Am I considered a non-traditional applicant? Will I get that boost? I have about 5 years of legal work experience, but it’s technically not after undergrad.