Advice regarding setting up for PI. Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
acr440

New

Advice regarding setting up for PI.

Post by acr440 » Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:03 pm

Hello All

I am a recent graduate who has been a paralegal at a lit boutique for 2 months now. I would like to go to law school for public interest law, and I have been reading past posts on the best way to do this. According to what I have read on TLS the ideal position to be in for PI would be a scholarship at NYU or Columbia. However, there are some past posts that stress the importance of working in PI prior to law school in order to be competitive for PI scholarships. Since where I work now is corporate law should I leave to work for a non-profit or ACLU as a paralegal or administrative assistant?

As a side note, I wouldn't be applying until 2017 or 2018. I plan to work for a year then leave for a grad program in UK, and then either work a bit more or apply right away.

Any general advice as how to be a PI competitive applicant would be helpful.

Mack.Hambleton

Platinum

Re: Advice regarding setting up for PI.

Post by Mack.Hambleton » Sat Aug 15, 2015 7:43 pm

Why are you doing an expensive masters or whatever in the UK

cheesy143

New

Post by cheesy143 » Sat Aug 15, 2015 7:53 pm

Do you have any internships with nonprofits or volunteer experiences from college or anything?

acr440

New

Post by acr440 » Sun Aug 16, 2015 12:17 pm

Mack.Hambleton wrote:Why are you doing an expensive masters or whatever in the UK

It's not that expensive--much less of an expense than obtaining a masters in the US--but I am in the process of applying for scholarships and saving up to avoid debt. If anything its a self-indulgence. I wouldn't worry about this.

acr440

New

Post by acr440 » Sun Aug 16, 2015 12:19 pm

cheesy143 wrote:Do you have any internships with nonprofits or volunteer experiences from college or anything?