UK Undergrad Seeking Advice Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
shahaaditya92

New

UK Undergrad Seeking Advice

Post by shahaaditya92 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:11 pm

Hi!

I graduated from the University of Cambridge, UK in 2013, with a 2.i. After which I have spent time working full time, first in the law, in the Chambers of a retired Judge, and currently in Investment banking.

I have been looking to apply to certain law schools that are recognized by the Bar Council of India, as that is where I live and would like the option of coming back to practice here. I've only been familiar with the UK system of education, so this process is a new to me. I was hoping I would get some advice here. The first question relates to the hard numbers, I've not sure how the conversion from the UK degree classification to the US GPA systems works, I've done a little research and got a few differing answers, so any advice on the same would be great! Also, are schools more flexible with GPA of students from non-US undergrad institutions? Second, I've got a 3 month sabbatical from work to prepare for the LSAT, as IBanking hours can be demanding. Would this be sufficient time / any personal tips on preparing for the LSAT outside the numerous blogs written on the same?

I do understand that my questions are broad, but just hoping to get some clarity before getting down to other factors and the individual characteristics of each law school. Also, if it helps, the schools approved by the Bar Council of India are, UPenn, Georgetown, Cornell, UC-B & Fordham, additionally I would also love to apply to Boston College and Northwestern even though they aren't recognized by the Bar Council of India.

Many thanks in advance for help help you may be nice enough to offer. Also, if anyone has questions on Oxford or Cambridge applications do reach out. Cheers, A :)

somepulp

New

Re: UK Undergrad Seeking Advice

Post by somepulp » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:46 pm