I am an undergrad who can graduate early. Next step? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
karatemaster101

New

I am an undergrad who can graduate early. Next step?

Post by karatemaster101 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:28 am

Given my current AP/CC credits, I will possibly be able to graduate in two years instead of four. My end goal is law school (T14 preferable, but I am realistic); what should I do in the meantime to maximize my chances? (I am an EE/CS major.)

1. Apply directly to law school. (I heard this is a bad idea, regardless of LSAT and GPA, since apps are open in fall, so to them I'll only have 1 to 1.5 years of grades.)
2. Defer graduation and take some more courses
2. Double major and get another bachelor's, then apply to law school in my 4th year.
3. Apply to graduate school and get a master's, then apply to law school when I am done.
4. Spend 1-2 years gaining work experience, and apply in my 4th year.

If I am going to apply early (choice #1) I will also apply to grad schools just to be safe.
I am just wondering if I have a chance when I'm so young, and if I should even bother, or if I should spend my time doing more useful things.
Does getting rejected 1st round have any effect on later tries? (Helps you, hurts you, gives more experience, no effect?)

RCSOB657

Gold

Re: I am an undergrad who can graduate early. Next step?

Post by RCSOB657 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:31 am

Hi, get an LSAT score first. Go from there.

banjo

Silver

Post by banjo » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:54 am

Work for a few years and see if you still want to go to law school.

KMart

Gold

Post by KMart » Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:07 am