for those deciding between law school and med school...... Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
suboxoneman

New

for those deciding between law school and med school......

Post by suboxoneman » Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:14 pm

first time poster here, but have browsed boards for a bit.

My background is I'm a fairly early career general internist/hospitalist in a medium size city in the southeast. Not a small town, but not Atlanta either. I also do addictions work(hence the username), but make most of my money as a hospitalist. I've been out of residency 4 years. My wife is an in house lawyer now(Id rather not say where) who graduated from Duke Law and spent three and a half years in biglaw before transitioning in house. I'm just one guy, but I feel like I may be able to help at least one poster out by clearing up some misconceptions.

For starters, I realize the number of people seriously debating between law school and medical school is very very small. That said, hopefully as someone who has experience in medicine(and knows tons of people in the community in various specialties) and at least a superficial knowledge of law/biglaw/t14 stuff/whatever, I can help at least one poster out.

What I think students should first realize is that these forums grossly mischaracterize the market, employment prospects, general work conditions, etc of most physicians. Now to be fair it's not their fault, since a lot of the mainstream media does as well(which is where we get a lot of our assumptions from). Here are the biggest misrepresentations I see thrown about: