Transitioning from pre-med to law school candidate Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
soitgoes23

New

Transitioning from pre-med to law school candidate

Post by soitgoes23 » Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:13 pm

It's a little complicated, but I went from a law school hopeful to pre-med, then back to the former in a span of four years (i.e. college). The indecisiveness was mainly due to shifts in my personal philosophy during those years. I'm now a college graduate and am working as a research assistant, as most of my focus was on science/research, etc during my last two years or so in college. But I've now decided that I was wrong and that the burnout that I've experienced these last few years have been due to forcing my way through something that doesn't resonate with me completely.
I don't have much practical experience in the legal field - does it hurt my application if I don't have any experience related to law? Most of my work these last few years have been in science/research. And how do I start over? It's been difficult to get "legal shadowing," and my current job doesn't afford much time to pursue an internship outside of that. On top of that, I'm currently dealing with kind of a major burnout and would like a minor break, so I was hoping to teach English abroad as a way of saving up money and traveling. How do law schools view my type of "non-traditional" applicants?

Winston1984

Gold

Re: Transitioning from pre-med to law school candidate

Post by Winston1984 » Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:27 pm