* Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Kobaine51

Bronze

Post by Kobaine51 » Thu Nov 13, 2014 7:07 pm

Last edited by Kobaine51 on Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BillsFan9907

Silver

Re: Addendum question

Post by BillsFan9907 » Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:13 pm

Why did you transfer from the first school to the public? The transfer to the elite school is obviously understandable,

Ramius

Gold

Re: Addendum question

Post by Ramius » Thu Nov 13, 2014 11:17 pm

Kobaine51 wrote:I transferred twice as an undergraduate. I spent one semester at the first school before transferring and spending a semester at a public school in my home state, while at that school I was accepted to an elite university, where I matriculated the following autumn. I have no disciplinary record, nor was there an underlying issue that I was facing while transferring. I got basically perfect grades at the first two schools I attended. I graduated from the third school after three years, spending a total of four years in college.

I am considering writing an addendum simply because it looks strange, and if left undressed raises questions. What I would say is "I transferred because at every juncture I thought it would improve my life. As an eighteen year old I did not have enough life experience to understand the consequences in terms of perception that transferring twice would have on my record." I can give a positive explanation of why I made each decision, but not briefly, and so I think that is beyond the scope of an addendum. I worry though, that the explanation I provided above could come off as defensive or evasive.

Should I write the short addendum I described above, a more detailed one explaining each decision but being two pages or longer, or no addendum at all?