A few questions Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Broncos847

New

A few questions

Post by Broncos847 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:00 pm

I recieved my LSAT scores yesterday, and was beyond suprised and excited to see I got a 172. I was pting around a 168-170 and was not confident after the test; I thought for sure I would retake in December. However a 172 is definitely around the upper end of what I wanted, so now i'm scrambling to get some applications done.

First of all, I plan on applying ED to UPenn. I graduated with a 3.4 GPA (horrific I know) from a large public state school majoring in political science. My softs are existent if unspectacular; my personal statement attempts to subtly explain the low GPA by dicussing my experience working 30+ hours a week during undergrad (this will be verified with a letter of recomendation from my former employer). However, I know it really comes down to GPA and LSAT; what are my chances at UPenn ED?

Also, if I do apply ED, does that mean that I can't apply anywhere else until I hear back? Other schools i'm interested in are Cornell, NU, Michigan, Duke, basically the low T-14 except Georgetown. Also because i'm a moron and I havent gotten all my LOR and my transcript in to CAS yet i'm wondering if I will be able to get it all and processed before the Dec 1. deadline. Also, on lsac.org when applying to UPenn I dont see an option to apply ED, just regular admission. How do I make sure I apply ED?

Thank you to anyone who is willing to answer my dumb questions.

phillywc

Gold

Re: A few questions

Post by phillywc » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:06 pm

Penn's ED option is inside the actual application, IIRC.

I wouldn't apply ED there though.

I had a 3.5 from a school very similar to yours, a 173 LSAT, and got several T14 acceptances including NYU.

You'll get into Penn if you apply ED though.

Broncos847

New

Post by Broncos847 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:45 pm