A unique admissions question (or so I think) Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Phreaxer

New

A unique admissions question (or so I think)

Post by Phreaxer » Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:39 pm

I feel like I'm a little different compared to most 0Ls'.
I am older, and have more degrees than most. lol
I have a BS, MBA and MS in Criminal Justice.
The problems I foresee with my enrollment/acceptance are the grades and LSAT scores. I just took my LSAT last month so I haven't seen my score yet, but I feel like a dropped the ball on two sections. I'm guessing it will be around 140 or so. My UG gpa was pretty low (3.1 I believe) as well, but my MBA and MS both were better (3.3 and 3.99 respectively). Will I be able to get the schools to look at the GPA of my graduate degrees more favorably than my UG GPA?
I plan on retaking the LSAT in December, is that advised assuming I did as poorly as I feel like I did?

Thanks in advance!

I'm sure this is just one of many questions. I've spent the last couple hours viewing/reading this forum.

earthabides

Bronze

Re: A unique admissions question (or so I think)

Post by earthabides » Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:41 pm

Did you study for the LSAT?

McAvoy

Gold

Post by McAvoy » Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:43 pm

Law school will not be a good be a seriously terrible option at this point.

They will only really care about your undergraduate GPA, and your LSAT would need to be a full 25-30 points better for you to be in a reasonable situation with a 3.1.

If you're up for a ton of work to get that LSAT to a respectable range (165+ for your GPA), then get to work. If you're not, find another career path.

Phreaxer

New

Post by Phreaxer » Thu Oct 09, 2014 4:56 pm

earthabides wrote:Did you study for the LSAT?
I did, but not as much as I should have. I'm also in the middle of a divorce and things got really ugly the night before the test, so I definitely wasn't all there mentally.

Phreaxer

New