Pre-law adviser said NOT to take all easy classes Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
iluvcash

New

Pre-law adviser said NOT to take all easy classes

Post by iluvcash » Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:57 pm

Hi all, I'm a hot mess right now and need your input on a situation.

Basically, I'm an AA male with a 3.6+ LSAC GPA, I'm currently studying to take the June LSAT. I am staying on for a 5th year (2 semesters) of college in order to take easy (intro, 100 level) courses to raise my LSAC GPA to a 3.7. I'm taking a full credit courseload of easy classes to achieve this purpose. At the same time, I'm continuing to study the LSAT for June. I plan to apply in the fall of next year.

Is this a right strategy?
My pre-law adviser says no.

The adviser suggests that top law schools will see the easy courseload and that it will reflect negatively on me. The adviser explained that this strategy will definitely put much more emphasis on my LSAT score. The adviser suggests that I drop a few intro 100 level classes, and add upper level classes instead.

I really don't want to add upper level classes because I'm trying to get A+s in order to raise my GPA, the easy classes that I'm taking make that a possibility. My record shows that I have taken difficult upper level classes before, and have done well in them, getting A+, and As. If I take upper level classes, it makes the job of getting A+s and studying for the LSAT much more difficult.

What does TLS say?

ilikebaseball

Gold

Re: Pre-law adviser said NOT to take all easy classes

Post by ilikebaseball » Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:59 pm

idk if it helps your question, but my pre law advisor told me that i needed to study for my lsat for around a month in order to properly be prepared and then he told me that thomas cooley and Arkansas- Little Rock were fine schools that he'd be happy to see me go to.

So there's that.

MidwestLifer

Bronze

Post by MidwestLifer » Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:02 pm