Potential Dilemma:2 versus 3 LOR Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JerryLundegard

Bronze

Potential Dilemma:2 versus 3 LOR

Post by JerryLundegard » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:25 pm

Hey everybody,

This is my first post but I have used the forums(just reading) for quite a while now.

I graduated from Rutgers in 2013 with a major in philosophy and have just started my second year with Teach For America. I already have two LOR lined up with two of my former philosophy professors. I am contemplating requesting a third LOR from my instructional coach-the dean of instruction at my school(KIPP)...Where things get complicated is that I am not so sure that he would write a very compelling recommendation given that I would be leaving the school after two years. Additionally, as we are not incredibly close, I think he would mostly mention/repeat things that I discuss in my resume and PS.

So my question is this...
would it be weird if i worked a full time job for two years and didn't get a letter of rec from my employer-or will this not matter because I am a recent college graduate? Or should I send three and potentially run the risk of making my application redundant and forced(from the employer side)

I am not sure I framed this super well but I have been up since 5am-working full time and lsat studying so I hope I have painted a clear enough picture.

Any input is appreciated as I will be applying this upcoming cycle(mostly #15-#35 ranked schools). Thanks!

malleus discentium

Silver

Re: Potential Dilemma:2 versus 3 LOR

Post by malleus discentium » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:31 pm

To the extent that schools care about LORs they want exactly two academic ones. It will not look weird to not use one from a job if you're only a few years out of school. Additionally, a meh third LOR weakens two strong LORs.

Ti Malice

Gold

Post by Ti Malice » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:43 pm