Need Advice! Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kyrae04

New

Need Advice!

Post by kyrae04 » Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:54 am

I graduated May 2014 from Ohio State University with a BS in Biology. My original plan was med school but as time went on and I took several classes, I realized it wasn't for me. I graduated with a 2.941 GPA, with no trends in grades. Various circumstances such as working part or full time to pay for school, parents' divorce, difficult major, depression, etc. played significant roles.

I am wanting to study health law and policy. Maybe work in a hospital? I have no work experience in the legal field but do work full time as a Patient Care Associate (essentially a nurse's assistant) at the University Hospital.

I have not began prepping for or taken the LSAT yet. I have been prepping for the GRE for a Nurse Practitioner program, but realized that I am not entirely sure I want to work in direct patient care.

With my lack of experience, low GPA, and no clue as to how well I will perform on the LSAT, what advice can you all offer? I intend to begin prepping intensely for the LSAT and am aiming for a 170++. What schools should I consider? I do not really care where I go, but being financially independent, $100,000+ tuitions aren't really an option.

Thank you so much!

js1663

Bronze

Re: Need Advice!

Post by js1663 » Sun Aug 10, 2014 3:07 am

It's impossible to say which schools you have a shot at before you take the LSAT though if you do indeed score in the 170's you have a shot at some of the lower T-14's such as Northwestern and a good chance at a scholarship at lower ranked schools: http://mylsn.info/iqtjhv/