Grade Deflation - do schools see class averages? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
WeeBey

Silver

Grade Deflation - do schools see class averages?

Post by WeeBey » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:06 pm

Hello TLS,

I go to U of Toronto, known for its epic grade deflation. The university website even says the aim for class averages in the mid to high 60s ( C to C+ range) and I majored in Biology.

I have a 3.31 LSDAS GPA, however, since course averages are posted on our transcripts, I checked out what LSDAS GPA the average student who took all my classes would get. It came up to a fucking 2.35 - out of the 30 credits i took, only 3 were B or higher, 8 were B-s, 9 were C+s, 3 were Cs, 4 were C-s, and 2 were D+s (WTF?!)

My 3.31 is almost whole grade point above class average 2.35, yet from a little research, most US schools have a 3.0 as the class average which would make my 3.31 kinda shitty.

My question is, would T14 schools take this into account during admissions, like would they also see my full transcript with a bunch of Cs in the class average column, or would they only see LSDAS GPA, and if they do, would it make a difference?

notalobbyist

Bronze

Re: Grade Deflation - do schools see class averages?

Post by notalobbyist » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:16 pm

It won't make as much of a difference as you would want, but may make a minor one.

ymmv

Diamond

Post by ymmv » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:19 pm

canadianbrother wrote:Hello TLS,

I go to U of Toronto, known for its epic grade deflation. The university website even says the aim for class averages in the mid to high 60s ( C to C+ range) and I majored in Biology.

I have a 3.31 LSDAS GPA, however, since course averages are posted on our transcripts, I checked out what LSDAS GPA the average student who took all my classes would get. It came up to a fucking 2.35 - out of the 30 credits i took, only 3 were B or higher, 8 were B-s, 9 were C+s, 3 were Cs, 4 were C-s, and 2 were D+s (WTF?!)