. Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
zaetoroftheprotoss

Bronze

Post by zaetoroftheprotoss » Thu Feb 06, 2014 4:55 pm

Last edited by zaetoroftheprotoss on Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:15 am, edited 2 times in total.

ph14

Gold

Re: Research work but no publications-does that raise questions?

Post by ph14 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:29 pm

zaetoroftheprotoss wrote:Hey everyone,

I was just wondering if adcoms would be concerned about having done research work without having any publications to major journals to show for the effort? More specifically, I received an A on my honors thesis, which covered some of this work, but I have 2 years of research experience in one lab and about a year in another without any first or second authorships. I hope to have at least two publications sometime this year before I apply, but I am wondering about the (potential) impact in case I have none.

Background: I just graduated with a STEM major from a top research university in the US.
I seriously doubt it.

zaetoroftheprotoss

Bronze

Post by zaetoroftheprotoss » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:35 pm

ph14 wrote: I seriously doubt it.
If you don't mind me asking, why? I thought that not having anything tangible to show for the work would be considered akin to a gap in employment?

ph14

Gold

Post by ph14 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:38 pm

zaetoroftheprotoss wrote:
If you don't mind me asking, why? I thought that not having anything tangible to show for the work would be considered akin to a gap in employment?
Because you're applying to law school, not a Ph.D program in that field. And, in any event, with the way law school admissions is generally accepted to work, publications would be a positive, but the lack of publications is not going to be a negative. Either way, you're going to get results in the ballpark of your LSAT/GPA.

cron1834

Gold

Post by cron1834 » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:41 pm

zaetoroftheprotoss wrote: