LOR from lower level core class? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
WaltGrace83

Silver

LOR from lower level core class?

Post by WaltGrace83 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:35 pm

I bet this has been answered before but I tried searching and returned nothing.

I am in my last semester with a GPA over every schools' 75% and am taking the LSAT in June with 5 months of nothing but studying starting next month (and a little bit of work here and there to pay the small bills). I am going for YHS or T14 with a big scholly. I have already asked for two LORs and will probably ask for a third one from my English capstone professor after this semester. My questions are the following:

1) One of my LOR which I hope will be strong is actually from an adjunct professor for one my 100 level theology classes I took last year for a requirement. While he does not really have a high position, I have remained in good contact with him and I was a boss in his class. I participated, he understood my goals, he thought very very highly of me, and told me that I was one of the best students he has ever had. I did a little bit of essay writing in this class and he loved my work. Considering where I am going for - should I ditch this LOR and go for another 400 level professor? TCR usually says that it doesn't matter who writes the letter but when people generally say that it refers to a 0L asking "should I have a friend of the dean write it who doesn't know me at all?" I have never heard of someone getting a letter from a 100 level required class.