targeted or untargeted LOR that compares me to a Chicago stu Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jabberwocky_phlegm

New

targeted or untargeted LOR that compares me to a Chicago stu

Post by jabberwocky_phlegm » Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:56 am

One of my letter-writers has taught a student who got a great scholarship at a top school--let's say it's Chicago. I'm confident that my letter-writer thinks I am a better student than the guy with the scholarship, so I'm asking him to consider putting a bit in the letter where he compares me to that student.

My question is: Should that be a part of a targeted letter to Chicago, or would HYS_CN adcomms like to see me compared to a Chicago student too?

edit: I can see how an in-depth comparison would be a terrible idea, but I'm aiming for something more along the lines of, "hey, this guy's a good deal better than some of my students who have gone on to top programs like Chicago."
Last edited by jabberwocky_phlegm on Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

OfThriceandTen

Bronze

Re: targeted or untargeted LOR that compares me to a Chicago stu

Post by OfThriceandTen » Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:02 am

jabberwocky_phlegm wrote:I'm confident that my letter-writer thinks I am a better student than the guy with the scholarship, so I'm asking him to consider putting a bit in the letter where he compares me to that student.
This is a terrible idea. Under no circumstances should you do this.

justonemoregame

Silver

Post by justonemoregame » Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:14 am

I like how you phrase the Q as: is this a good idea here or an even better idea over here?

jabberwocky_phlegm

New

Post by jabberwocky_phlegm » Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:16 am

Yale's AskAsha blog actually highlights a letter that does this. She says it's one of the best letters she's ever seen:

"[Student A] and [Student B], both of whom I taught, are currently at Yale Law School. [Applicant] is better than both of them put together."