??????NEED ADVISE ON WHEN TO APPLY????? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
iGuy

New

??????NEED ADVISE ON WHEN TO APPLY?????

Post by iGuy » Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:30 pm

Hi guys,

I can't decide When to Apply to Law Schools 2014 or 2015.

I graduated this past summer with bachelors in finance 3.74 GPA. My CC GPA was 3.44; now I just found out that they will actually count my CC GPA as well, this has upset me greatly as you can tell. Anyhow, I'm just beginning my LSAT prep course (Princeton) and hopefully I will be ready for Feb 8th LSAT.

If I score the LSAT in the 165 range I have a choice of EITHER barely making it in for March 1 application deadlines and hopefully getting accepted at Wake or UNC OR Not to rush and wait until June LSAT to ensure a better score and early admission advantage, but that will put me at 2 years of unnecessary wait. I do have a full time job now as a financial analyst and this doesn't make things any easier.

So what do you think are the benefits of either cramming everything in and barely making in with the deadlines or wait an extra year? (keep in mind in extremely anxious to go to law school, not a big fond of my present job and on top of all that I'm already deferring LS 1 year as it is, so it seems like 2 years would be a stretch).

In case I do decide to wait for an extra year of wait, is it true that LSAC folks will not weigh my CC GPA as Heavily as they would now and instead focus more on my 2 year university GPA ? Another benefit would be some gained experience in my undergrad field of study.

Okay now I need some thoughts and advise please !!! PRO's CON's ??? THANKS!!

AT9

Gold

Re: ??????NEED ADVISE ON WHEN TO APPLY?????

Post by AT9 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:37 pm

Pros to waiting a cycle:
Medians may be even lower, giving you better options
You can save up $ and gain some real world work experience
Not as much stress from trying to cram everything in
Get to apply early

Cons to waiting a cycle