Should I apply to American Law Schools? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Airbum88

New

Should I apply to American Law Schools?

Post by Airbum88 » Sun May 19, 2013 7:43 pm

I am from Canada but one day I want to practice law in the United States. I am considering applying to law schools in the US but the employment numbers and the amount of debt that I will accrue is worrying me. After graduation, I won't have a visa to work for US firms unless I am sponsored but that's wishing for the best since there are tons for other American law students are probably dying for the same job. I figure if I apply to American law schools, I have to aim for the a T14 school but even if I enter one, I am concerned about my chances.

Here is something about me. I graduated with a BA Joint Honors in Economics and Mathematics. My GPA is not super high (I'm not exactly sure what it is because Canada uses a 0-100 scale). After graduation, I taught English in Japan for two years and I learned Japanese while I was there. Afterwards, I went to Florida State University's Film School and got an MFA degree in Screenwriting. Next, I moved to Los Angeles for a year and did some internships for some film production companies.

Anyway, I'm making this post because I want to hear some of your insights as to whether I should apply and enrol in an T14 American law school? And, if you are an international student or a graduate, I would love to hear your opinions as well.

Gold

Re: Should I apply to American Law Schools?

Post by 20141023 » Sun May 19, 2013 9:03 pm

Last edited by 20141023 on Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dr. Dre

Gold

Post by Dr. Dre » Mon May 20, 2013 1:59 am

Stay in Canada, and practice there.

jas1503

Bronze

Post by jas1503 » Mon May 20, 2013 2:54 am

Why would you want to leave Canada, where there's only -like- 16 law schools?