ED to Columbia? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
rutgers17

Bronze

ED to Columbia?

Post by rutgers17 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:25 pm

delete
Last edited by rutgers17 on Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

curious66

Bronze

Re: ED to Columbia?

Post by curious66 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:32 pm

rutgers17 wrote:I have a 3.93 LSAC undergrad GPA and I'm studying for the June LSAT. I'm currently getting my masters in Politics & Education at Columbia Teachers College and I have pretty good soft factors. If I could get like a 170+ on the LSAT (i'm hoping closer to 175), would it be a mistake to do ED to Columbia? I know this is where I want to go but I'm hoping to get some scholarship money. Would applying ED take me out of the running for scholarships? Thanks!
Only do ED if Columbia is truly your first choice. ED may or maynot effect your ability to get money / aid but ultimately, Columbia has excellent job prospects so, hopefully you would recover the $ even at sticker. However, only do this if Columbia is your first choice -- if you truly get a 170 LSAT with the 3.93 GPA, you are likely to get $$ from the other T14's.. so, just do your research. I am debt adverse so I would sprinkle the T14's and then pick the best $$ offer & fit from there.

NoodleyOne

Gold

Post by NoodleyOne » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:34 pm

rutgers17 wrote:I have a 3.93 LSAC undergrad GPA and I'm studying for the June LSAT. I'm currently getting my masters in Politics & Education at Columbia Teachers College and I have pretty good soft factors. If I could get like a 170+ on the LSAT (i'm hoping closer to 175), would it be a mistake to do ED to Columbia? I know this is where I want to go but I'm hoping to get some scholarship money. Would applying ED take me out of the running for scholarships? Thanks!