GPA addendum for less-than-stellar reasons? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lunaraeon

Bronze

GPA addendum for less-than-stellar reasons?

Post by lunaraeon » Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:31 pm

Hi everyone. I'm just waiting for a mistakenly entered grade to be updated on my transcript and my LORs to be uploaded, then I'll be ready to apply for this cycle. I'm also wondering whether it's worth writing a GPA addendum, or whether it would be too likely to harm my application, considering how late into the cycle I am applying.

Relevant details:
My LSAT is 179, I wrote it once this most recent October.
Prior to this semester my GPA was terrible (below 3.3). It is still pretty terrible (3.4) but my past semester was a significant increase for me in terms of grades. I went from mediocre to pretty good (just under 3.9). It is my fifth semester out of the total six I will complete before my degree is awarded due to some advanced standing, so although I'll certainly be aiming to replicate my improved work ethic, I still won't come close to breaking many 25th percentiles :P My school has also made it clear I must graduate at the end of this current semester so no extra classes to boost my grades.

I (of course) feel my most recent semester is a better idea of my potential. My first two years meant becoming adjusted to completely new situations, people, dealing with relationship issues, and different types and amounts of work. A large part was me being a poor worker and not dealing well with stress.