Professor asks what to write on reference letter Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
MrNiceGuy35

New

Professor asks what to write on reference letter

Post by MrNiceGuy35 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:00 pm

One of the professors who I asked to write a reference letter for me has asked me what I'd like him to write. Essentially, it seems he's willing to write whatever is best for my acceptance, of course without lying. I was a top-notch graduate student in his classes and others; I graduated with a 3.99 GPA. I typically turned in my work early, indiciating good time management. I was usually applauded for my good writing and analytical thinking skills. I'd like to ask him to write about these characteristics....but what else? Any suggestions are appreciated.

helix23

Gold

Re: Professor asks what to write on reference letter

Post by helix23 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:43 pm

MrNiceGuy35 wrote: I typically turned in my work early, indiciating good time management. I was usually applauded for my good writing and analytical thinking skills.
Irony! JK

I would assume a good recommendation letter would do two things: 1) explain his personal experience teaching you and why you were a good student and 2) why, based on #1, you will be a successful in law school and a good addition to the class.

MrNiceGuy35

New

Post by MrNiceGuy35 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:53 pm

Hehe, yep, spelling errors and improper use of the word "good" = "good writing!" LOL :P I'll have to be more careful writing these posts!!

helix23

Gold

Post by helix23 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:56 pm

MrNiceGuy35 wrote:Hehe, yep, spelling errors and improper use of the word "good" = "good writing!" LOL :P I'll have to be more careful writing these posts!!
It's the internet. I was really just messing with you.

MrNiceGuy35

New

Post by MrNiceGuy35 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:58 pm

No problem, I deserved it ;)

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!