GPA bump or ED? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mqt

Gold

GPA bump or ED?

Post by mqt » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:16 pm

I'm in my last semester of undergrad, and my GPA is rather weak at the moment, with a 2.88 as calculated for my LSDAS GPA or a 3.16 per my university transcript. I have an upward trend, with my GPA having risen from around a 2.4 to where it is now over the past 3 semesters. In this current semester, I currently have all As, and this is likely to continue. If so, my LSDAS GPA would calculate to 2.99 and my institutional GPA would be at or near 3.3.

However, the semester does not end until early December, which is well past the deadline for any ED programs at top schools. It seems obvious that there is at least some advantage to applying ED to certain schools, so my question is if that advantage is enough to negate the difference in GPA calculations.

What also might be noteworthy is that I'm taking the LSAT on Saturday, so I do not have a score to apply right now. I'm PTing in the mid-170s, which gives me hope that I can score fairly high on the test. I know that without that score, there is certainly no way of determining whether or not I have a chance at most schools, but for the sake of answering the general question posed in the thread, I would assume my score for the LSAT is going to be fairly competitive. So, essentially would a ~170/2.88 ED be more beneficial than a ~170/2.99 later in the cycle for the top schools?

TheZoid

Bronze

Re: GPA bump or ED?

Post by TheZoid » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:19 pm

You have two semesters to get your GPA above a 3.0. I'd focus on that and wait until next cycle to apply, as 3.0 is a pretty hard floor for many schools. With a 170+ LSAT and above 3.0 GPA, you'll probly get a couple bites in the T-14.

mqt

Gold

Post by mqt » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:34 pm