Still Apply to Law School this cycle? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mysteryprincess

New

Still Apply to Law School this cycle?

Post by mysteryprincess » Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:07 pm

I graduated at a t35 with a finance degree, my LSAC gpa should be a 3.3, traveled for a year after graduation (no work add'l work experience). Did not take the June LSAT, and the date change deadline for the October LSAT is tomorrow. For my target schools I need a 172-174 to get in them, if you trust in the predictors. I have been practicing at a 167 with generous time, aka I'm not fast enough yet. Therefore I don't think I can get in that range by October even if I studied everyday at this point (and factor into moving into a place across the US).

So I'm going to change my test date. Here are two current strategies or ideas I'm considering.

1. Change the Test Date to February. PROS: If I change the test date to February, that will be more than enough time to get (hopefully I don't hit my plateau too soon), a solid score on the LSAT. And even if I didn't do too well, I'd still have June to fall back on. And even if my better score is June, I'd still have enough time to apply ED and have a better chance at law schools by getting my admission stuff early. Considering getting a JD-MBA, I need to give 2 weeks notice to take the GMATs, so I would have time to study for an entirely new test. CONS: I'd have to wait another admission cycle.