Does graduate GPA count, if at all? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ivonmx

New

Does graduate GPA count, if at all?

Post by ivonmx » Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:38 pm

I am an international student and my GPA is really low - 3.8 out of a 5 points scaling system (I am within 15% percentile though).
After my undergrad, I came to the states and did a M.S. in Computer Science, and the GPA is not bad (3.87 out of 4). So the question is dead simple, does my graduate GPA help my application portfolio? I heard most law school won't even look at the graduate GPA but since my undergrad is done outside of US will they actually assign more weight to my graduate GPA?

Thanks.

Yardbird

Silver

Re: Does graduate GPA count, if at all?

Post by Yardbird » Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:50 pm

ivonmx wrote:does my graduate GPA help my application portfolio?
Not really

homestyle28

Gold

Post by homestyle28 » Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:50 pm

ivonmx wrote:I am an international student and my GPA is really low - 3.8 out of a 5 points scaling system (I am within 15% percentile though).
After my undergrad, I came to the states and did a M.S. in Computer Science, and the GPA is not bad (3.87 out of 4). So the question is dead simple, does my graduate GPA help my application portfolio? I heard most law school won't even look at the graduate GPA but since my undergrad is done outside of US will they actually assign more weight to my graduate GPA?

Thanks.
Won't change your LSDAS GPA at all. Will be looked at as a mildly favorable soft factor for admissions purposes.

SaintsTheMetal

Bronze

Post by SaintsTheMetal » Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:19 pm

Doubtful; most graduate programs give out massively inflated GPAs. I think a poor Master's or PHD GPA is very rare

ivonmx

New

Post by ivonmx » Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:20 am

Thanks all for your replies.. seems like getting a high LSAT score is my only way to go :?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!