Where do I stand? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Hoosier574

New

Where do I stand?

Post by Hoosier574 » Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:05 pm

Hello everyone. I've been browsing the forum for a while now but decided to finally create an account. I've seen a few posts regarding odds of admission given their GPA, area of study, and LSAT scores. However my situation is... unique. I'll give you a brief history of my academic career. I graduated from high school in 2007 and needless to say I didn't have high expectations for myself as far as college went due to my circle of friends. I was in AP courses throughout high school but never really gave any effort to my studies, because I was preoccupied with my social life. I ended up going to a satellite branch of our state university. My first few years were much like high school and I still didn't have my priorities in order. With the minimum GPA needed (2.0) to apply I transferred to the main campus to finish out my degree. Basically I spent my 1st four years working nearly full time and had my academic life on the back burner. Last year I decided this isn't what I wanted for myself and decided to get my life in order. I finally gave in and started taking medication for my ADD. Basically I've completely turned my life around. I'm now a double major in Economics and Sociology and expecting to graduate in May. Here's where I stand, my cumulative GPA is at 2.7 but my major GPAs are 2.8 (econ) 3.5 (soc). Over the past year I've averaged a 3.3 out of 34 credit hours including summer school and nearly all core classes. I have a very strong work history (working my way through college) and great references. Not to sound over confident but if I'm offered the opportunity, I should do very well in a potential interview. Due to working in hospitality and customer service for the last 7 years I can talk to anyone about anything, and I'm regarded as being the best at what I do by both management and our customer ba