Should I add a second major to my undergrad in History? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kidramsees

New

Should I add a second major to my undergrad in History?

Post by kidramsees » Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:19 pm

Currently I am an undergrad heading into my 3rd year majoring in History - had a 3.5 GPA and now with the inclusion on my Bio class, it's now down to a 3.4. :( Hopefully it'll bounce back up.

So let me get to the point. I'm really interested in adding Environmental Science (BA) into my major, because 1 - it'll be something interesting and fun if I do decide to get a masters in Geology, but 2 - because I'm mainly contemplating on adding the major because it'll provide a safety net if I decide later on law school isn't for me and I won't be swimming in debt. Law school, however, is my number 1 priority, but I don't get into a Top 14 or similar caliber, then I suppose I'd do something else.

As for the environmental sci program - we're required to take 2 quarters of calculus, 3 quarters of chemistry, and the rest and basically some environmental sci classes.
http://ess.uci.edu/undergrad/ba/requirements

Anyway - I just feel those extra classes will add to my benefit to diversify, and like I said, will provide some protection. Currently, at my school, logic counts as a math class and I have no real math (like calc or stats) on my transcript.

So let me get back to my point. I recently took bio sci and I got a C- (making my gpa a 3.4) :cry: . If I decide to add ES to my major too, that'll take a total of 5 years to graduate with a who-knows-what GPA/LSAT + extra loans to take out. I love the subject though.