Addendum? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
rinkrat19

Diamond

Re: Addendum?

Post by rinkrat19 » Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:07 pm

1. Definitely no.

2. I lean towards no.

Nova

Platinum

Post by Nova » Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:00 pm

Not the first one.

Yukos

Gold

Post by Yukos » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:44 am

I was planning on writing an addendum for getting a bad grade at a CC when I was a freshman in high school, but now those guys are making me reconsider :/

As for the second one, it's sad because it sounds like you really were placed in an unfair situation. I don't think you can write an addendum though, because you still a) took the classes that you seem to know you were going to do badly in and b) didn't P/F those classes. I hate when colleges and law schools punish you for trying to broaden your horizons, it seems so against the spirit of being a college student.

rinkrat19

Diamond

Post by rinkrat19 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:46 am

Yukos wrote:I was planning on writing an addendum for getting a bad grade at a CC when I was a freshman in high school, but now those guys are making me reconsider :/

As for the second one, it's sad because it sounds like you really were placed in an unfair situation. I don't think you can write an addendum though, because you still a) took the classes that you seem to know you were going to do badly in and b) didn't P/F those classes. I hate when colleges and law schools punish you for trying to broaden your horizons, it seems so against the spirit of being a college student.
What would this addendum say? "I was a dumb high school kid"? That doesn't excuse a bad grade, because there are thousands of equally dumb high school kids who didn't get bad grades in their college level classes.

Only write an addendum if you have a LEGITIMATE explanation, like health reasons or a family crisis.

Yukos

Gold

Post by Yukos » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:54 am

rinkrat19 wrote: