Asking for Letters of Recommendation from Former Professors Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ip_law_app

New

Asking for Letters of Recommendation from Former Professors

Post by ip_law_app » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:29 pm

I graduated '09 and haven't been in touch with my professors since graduation. I live across the country from my undergrad, so can't really "stop by" and get back in touch. What's the best way to ask former professors for LOR? I'm sure they will remember me and have nice things to say, but I'd imagine any letter they write will lack the specifics or personal touch, just because its been so many years, that one of my managers could write based on my work experience. Are academic LOR really preffered to professional, even if the professional one likely could be more detailed and more relevant to what I've been working on lately?

Nova

Platinum

Re: Asking for Letters of Recommendation from Former Professors

Post by Nova » Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:06 pm

Since you have been out of UG a few years, its perfectly acceptable to have 1/2 professional recs and 1 acedemic letter. I suggest writing them a pleasant email. Explain your situation, include your resume, remind them how well you did in their class, and attach any essays/research papers you did well on, in order to refresh them.

ip_law_app

New

Post by ip_law_app » Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:51 am

Thanks! A couple more questions ...
How early should you ask for LOR?
Would a LOR from a Dean carry any more weight than a LOR from a professor?

cinephile

Gold

Post by cinephile » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:07 am

I was out of school 4 years when I applied, and I don't think the letters were too generic. I basically sent a letter to the profs saying what I had done for the past few years, why I wanted to go to law school, etc. And included a resume and paper written for their classes so they could comment on my work.