How Much Do Softs Really Matter? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
glaw01

New

How Much Do Softs Really Matter?

Post by glaw01 » Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:05 pm

So I think we all agree that admissions is primarily a numbers game. But if I'm a splitter, how much can softs help? I'm no Rhodes Scholar, but have a few interesting things on my resume. I'm a licensed pilot and certified personal trainer who speaks 5 languages and founded a nonprofit as an undergrad. I also ran a marathon to raise $5k for an anti-human trafficking organization. I'll graduate with a bachelor's and masters in accounting in May. I've also held the usual leadership positions on campus, nothing too impressive there though. In the eyes of an AdComm, does any of this stuff matter, or is it just LSAT and GPA?

Nova

Platinum

Re: How Much Do Softs Really Matter?

Post by Nova » Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:19 pm

IMO, your softs are pretty good! But so are many peoples... which neutralizes them a bit. Softs mostly affect the margins. They could easily be a tie breaker between you and someone else with similar numbers but weak softs. Obviously, LSAT and GPA are what determines if you are on edge or not in the first place.

LSAT >> GPA >>>>> Softs

Doorkeeper

Gold

Post by Doorkeeper » Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:32 pm

Founding a nonprofit is pretty cool if you actually did things with it.

Other than that, they're ok...but they don't really matter too much.

bp shinners

Gold

Post by bp shinners » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:13 pm