Advice for a Sophomore Undergrad Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Sammie190

New

Advice for a Sophomore Undergrad

Post by Sammie190 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:41 am

Hey everyone,

I am currently a second-semester sophomore at a small private college in RI and looking for some advice/feedback.

About Me/Stats:
Hispanic female (Puerto Rican)
Double majoring in poli sci/english lit
Current GPA - about 3.1 (hopefully it'll be higher after this semester & junior year, definitely something I'm working on)

I plan on going straight from undergrad to law school. Although I am on track to graduate in May of 2014, I might be able to graduate a semester earlier since I've been taking 18 credits each semester and I'm going to do either a study abroad program or a washington internship next summer (not set in stone yet.) Would it be best if I take the LSATs next June (after my junior year) and then apply to law schools in the fall of 2013? Or should I take the LSATs earlier? Also, I want to start studying for the LSATs this summer - is this too early? I tend to be an extremely nervous test taker even though I perform well academically, whis is one of the reasons I would prefer to start studying sooner rather than later. Some of the schools that I'm interested in attending are Columbia, Cornell, NYU, and USC. What can I do to maximize my chances of being accepted to these schools and possibly getting some scholarship money?

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Samantha

EMZE

Silver

Re: Advice for a Sophomore Undergrad

Post by EMZE » Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:44 am

Raise your GPA about .7. That would be the single best thing you can do for those schools with money.

johansantana21

Silver

Post by johansantana21 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:45 am