CHARACTER & FITNESS ISSUE! Need help Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
asunshine

New

CHARACTER & FITNESS ISSUE! Need help

Post by asunshine » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:52 am

I had a DUI 4 years ago and the matter was ultimately expunged. I applied to all of my schools and it didn't seem to be an issue except for one. I got a conditional acceptance from the University of Houston that I will be accepted once I submit documents regarding the character and fitness issue. The only problem is that there are no records or documents to submit. I contacted the Assistant Dean for Admissions and am waiting on her reply. I'm anxious and wanted to know if there is any precedent for this? If I can't submit records (due to their lack of existence), will they rescind their offer? It's not my only option, it's just something I'm strongly considering because I'm a Houston resident and I'll have in state tuition.

BeaverHunter

New

Re: CHARACTER & FITNESS ISSUE! Need help

Post by BeaverHunter » Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:25 pm

You should be able to get disposition papers from the county where you were arrested. Contact the clerk of the court. They should have something for you.

Br3v

Gold

Post by Br3v » Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:58 pm

BeaverHunter wrote:You should be able to get disposition papers from the county where you were arrested. Contact the clerk of the court. They should have something for you.
And follow advice obviously if dean gets back to you

Eliyahu7

New

Post by Eliyahu7 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:02 pm

I wouldn't be terribly worried about this. Like the other posters have mentioned, the documents are out there.

The school is already interested in you as evidenced by the conditional acceptance, and it appears that you've been completely honest about your record. Just work it out with them and you should be fine.

Mr. Pancakes

Silver

Post by Mr. Pancakes » Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:05 pm