Splitter - wait how many years to apply? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
breadphonez

New

Splitter - wait how many years to apply?

Post by breadphonez » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:52 pm

Hi guys,

I graduated in 2011 with a rather low GPA of 3.2. I have a 171 from October 2010. I have been working as a paralegal since graduating. I have biglaw ambitions - at least coming out of law school. I was considering applying this fall, but now I'm leaning toward taking more time off. That being said:

I. Could you tell me how significant the below factors are? I'd especially like to know how much 1-2 years of paralegal experience might help in OCI.

Pros of taking more time off
1. Distance myself from my GPA
2. Accumulate more savings.
3. Enjoy my youth
4. Have better idea of what I'm getting myself into with law school
5. More time for the economy to recover
6. Biglaw firms might consider me more favorably with more years of paralegal experience.

Cons
1. Lost net earnings - working for longer at paralegal salary vs. associate salary.
2. LSAT becomes less current, schools might want me to retake before 5 years are up?

II. Would it help me significantly to apply in Fall 2013 as opposed to Fall 2012?

Thanks!
Last edited by breadphonez on Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bk1

Diamond

Re: Splitter - wait how many years to apply?

Post by bk1 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:07 pm

(Pros)
1. Your 3.2 is going to haunt you forever. You've already distanced yourself from it by 2 years, which is good, but even another 8 years isn't going to do too much to change the 3.2.