Score and schools to go into academia Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LoveLife89

Bronze

Score and schools to go into academia

Post by LoveLife89 » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:16 pm

Hi All,

As you can see, I am new to this forum, but I have been a long time lurker and I am hoping that someone can answer a few of the questions that I haven't been able to find answers to. I graduated UG in December and I am currently working at a hospital. I finished with a lousy 3.4 GPA because my last semester was a 2.96. I took a diagnostic LSAT in October and scored a 156 and I have since been studying about three hours a day for the June test. I studied about an hour during my lunch break and about two hours when I get home from work. What score would I realistically need to score to gain admission into the T-14 schools with my GPA, and assuming a well put together admissions package?

Also, I would like to practice in an area related to sports law, but my final goal is to become a law professor. That would really be my dream, but I do understand the difficulty in becoming a professor. Are there any schools in particular that I should be interested in if I want to go into academia? What LSAT score would be needed for said schools also? I am working on having all my material sent out the first day of the new cycle also.

Any info would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you

Platinum

Re: Score and schools to go into academia

Post by 2014 » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:22 pm

Your best shot at academia is a T6 school which is out of the question with your GPA so your best bet if that is what you want to do is going to have to be busting your ass for law review at a lower T14 and doing your best to get published elsewhere as well.