Is going for a Second BA/BS pointless? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Actary

New

Is going for a Second BA/BS pointless?

Post by Actary » Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:10 pm

Hello Everyone,

I graduated this semester with a 3.62 GPA... 175 LSAT. My major was Political Science.
I really want to go to a Top 6 Law School.
I am wondering if it is , for instance, a smart move if I go for a second BA/BS, this time in Economics. I go to a CUNY college in NYC, and it will take me 3 to 4 semesters to finish my second BA/BS...

My reason for opting for a second BA/BS is due to the fact that I still regret choosing Political Science over Economics as a major (Pre-Law advisor you are not cool!), I would like to increase my GPA so I can pretend at least to be considered, and it is also due to the bad economy. I am hoping that by the time I apply, it will get better...

What do you guys think about this?
Help a fellow-TLS-Forum-addict out!

bdubs

Gold

Re: Is going for a Second BA/BS pointless?

Post by bdubs » Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:13 pm

You stand a good shot at CCN with a 3.62/175, why would you want to waste your time getting a 2nd degree?

There is no way you're getting into HYS, so just accept that and work hard to get into your favorite CCN.

blink

Bronze

Post by blink » Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:15 pm

yes. your LSDAS GPA only counts your first degree.

paul34

Bronze

Post by paul34 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:16 pm

Last edited by paul34 on Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JDizzle2015

Silver

Post by JDizzle2015 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:40 pm

+1 to what the previous posters said.

Good shot at CCN with 3.62/175. Not looking good for HYS--they have GPA floors at around 3.8.

No reason to get a second BA/BS when it comes to law school unless you want to get a hard science BS if you want to go into IP law.
LSAC Website wrote:Grades Excluded From Conversion
Withdraw, Withdraw/Pass—only if the issuing school considers the grade nonpunitive.