Do I stand a chance? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawyerguy1

New

Do I stand a chance?

Post by lawyerguy1 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:04 pm

Hello,

I did my B.A. (English Hons.) from University of Delhi with 57%. The University topper got a 64% score.
In college, I was an active member of theater society and acted in a number of plays. I was a part of the college basketball team. I also accompanied a local band as a lead guitarist (and still do).

I studied for my LL.B. at University of Delhi and graduated with a low 49% score. The University topper got a 63% score.
I was basically dormant and did not participate in extra-curricular activities during the law school years. Although I studied very hard to get a better score but failed. Although I did 3 good internships and also got published in a prestigious journal. I also represented my college at some National level Moot Court competitions. I also did a clerkship under a Judge of the High Court, Delhi.

Post law school, I worked in a lawyers chamber for a year and have worked on various constitutional law, taxation law, corporate law, etc. matters.

I wish to get admitted to a J.D. program in one of the top 10 law schools in the U.S. because I wish to study for the J.D. more sincerely and thoroughly. My long term goal is to go for a masters and a doctorate. And eventually join the academia.

So hypothetically, with an exceptionally good LSAT score, do I stand a chance to get into a top 10 U.S. law school, even though the aggregate score of my first degree in Law is really bad?

I need your support and best advice because this can make or break a lot of things for me.

Please help.

Thanking you.

Regards.

soj

Platinum

Re: Do I stand a chance?

Post by soj » Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:08 pm

Wow, those are some truly deflated grades. Puts us whiny American kids to shame.