Incredible situation lowered my GPA, need advice Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
dsosah

New

Incredible situation lowered my GPA, need advice

Post by dsosah » Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:22 pm

Hello, so I just discovered that a pretty stupid thing happen to me that screwed my whole GPA and for that matter I'm afraid that my whole application to law school. I transferred from a CC about a year and a half ago with a nice 3.85 GPA which I was now working to bump to a 3.9 or something. I was a honors student at my CC and I was on the Dean's List every semester etc. I have a year and a half left to graduate and I am getting pretty good grades.
Well, about two weeks ago I discovered that my GPA from the CC had dropped to a 3.72 get this, because of a "wellness" class ( meaning aerobics, something that was required for me to get my Associates) that I did not complete. I transferred before I could finish the class thinking they would just give me a WP. Well it turns out they gave me an "incomplete" which defaulted into an E grade after one year and now I'm stuck with this shitty grade in my transcript. I did not know that this would happen otherwise off course I would have finished the class. Now my only option is to retake (I cannot believe I am actually saying this) the stupid aerobics class, and I'm living now in another state.
But the thing is, even if I retake and they take it out of my transcript, the LSAT GPA will still calculate that grade into my overall GPA (or so it says in the LSAT website), and It will screw me no matter what.
Furthermore, if I don't retake it, will T14 schools see that awful "E" grade in my transcript and look down on my application because of it? Will this stupid class ruin my chances of getting into T14?. Please any thoughts welcome. Thank you

bk1

Diamond

Re: Incredible situation lowered my GPA, need advice

Post by bk1 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:23 pm

You're not screwed, assuming your LSAT is sufficient.

emciosn