Should I take Chinese classes in college? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
crazi4law

New

Should I take Chinese classes in college?

Post by crazi4law » Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:45 am

I have gotten the general message that GPA should be protected at all costs, and that the difficulty of classes you take outside of your major doesn't really matter to law school admissions officials. Therefore, I have thought up the idea of taking a few relatively easy Chinese classes whose difficulty level is far from challenging for me to get easy A's. But I am actually an international student from China and possess intermediate skills in the language.

Could this strategy potentially backfire on me badly as admissions looks at it as "cheating" for good grades? Or would they probably not even take a close look at my transcript?

Verity

Silver

Re: Should I take Chinese classes in college?

Post by Verity » Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:49 am

All that matters is good grades. Let me repeat: ALL THAT MATTERS IS GOOD GRADES.

You could major in muff diving, and all they'd care about is that 4.0.

Dany

Diamond

Post by Dany » Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:56 am

Verity wrote:You could major in muff-diving, and all they'd care about is that 4.0.
Can we please try to refrain from being so crude in the on-topic forums? Take it to the lounge.

To OP - I don't think your transcript will ever be reviewed that closely, and if it is, it will probably just look like you're trying to learn the language of your home country. Is your first language English? I don't think it's a big deal if you're not fluent. Just as an aside, my school has rules for native speakers/international students taking certain foreign language classes, so make sure you're not violating any of those by enrolling.

TaipeiMort

Silver

Post by TaipeiMort » Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:15 am