Should i add a sociology minor or just take easy electives? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
crazi4law

New

Should i add a sociology minor or just take easy electives?

Post by crazi4law » Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:28 am

im a rising sophomore in college, majoring in finance. i'm trying to decide what classes to take next semester and beyond. i realize that either would probably help my GPA, but would it make any difference to law schools if they see me pursue a sociology minor (20 units) or would it not be much different if i just took random easy electives (ex. 101 classes) instead?

i am already pursuing a chinese minor (though i am chinese). while the sociology minor classes all seem decently easy, im sure i could find many more easier classes at my school.

help would be much appreciated
(ps im aiming for top 8 law schools)

Bumi

Silver

Re: Should i add a sociology minor or just take easy electives?

Post by Bumi » Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:31 am

I can't even remember if I put my minor on my application anywhere.

edit: just checked. It does not even appear on my transcript. I can't imagine what good two minors would do you.

robotclubmember

Silver

Post by robotclubmember » Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:52 am

just take easy classes. also i like this new T8 concept you've invented.

firemed

Silver

Post by firemed » Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:21 am

Easy classes are TCR on this board... but I like to think that if you can take the occasional hard class and get an A that will be good for your soul/self-esteem/etc.

Also, I really liked sociology, personally... take a 100 level class of it and if you like it they are pretty easy... I noticed the people who disliked soc were always the ones getting Cs.

KeepitKind

Bronze

Post by KeepitKind » Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:30 am

what's easier than sociology?
and..
crazi4law wrote: im sure i could find many more easier classes at my school.
- maybe u should try an english writing class

Want to continue reading?