My low CC GPA vs high 4yr school GPA Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jang01

New

My low CC GPA vs high 4yr school GPA

Post by jang01 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:33 pm

hello guys, im a current university student transferred from community college last year.

Because I was young and stupid, my GPA from CC was pretty low. it was 3.35 excluding all the 1 D, 2 Fs, and 2 Ws. My CC let me re-take the classes to make up my CC GPA numbers. the classes that I took at CC are mostly composed of general education classes and lower division classes.

But right now at my recent school, i took mostly of my upper division classes (my major classes) and putting up very high GPA numbers. Since I am trying to apply for the law school next year, I am trying to keep my winning tradition for the next 2 yrs at my university.

so my question is, even if I manage to get respectable number on my LSAT (175 and up), do you think my LSAC (or LSDAS GPA?) will thwart me from getting into the T-14 law school with all that Ds and Fs?? or does law school admission look at ur university GPA more than they do look at your CC GPA? i mean if i keep up with my good work and get high GPA (probably 3.7 or higher) at my current 4yr school, can i still get into T-14 law school? (Or even Columbia?)

p.s. I took 90 units at CC and am planning to take 90 units at my university

ill be waiting for your information. thank you all to the future lawyers!!

bk1

Diamond

Re: My low CC GPA vs high 4yr school GPA

Post by bk1 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:34 pm

They only care about your LSAC GPA but a good LSAT will help you get into good schools.

http://www.lawschoolnumbers.com

mickeyD

Bronze

Re: My low CC GPA vs high 4yr school GPA

Post by mickeyD » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:52 pm