Diversity Statement for non-URM Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
oliver_h

New

Diversity Statement for non-URM

Post by oliver_h » Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:27 am

I am a non-URM but am applying to UPenn which requires a one-page additional essay on one of the following questions (paraphrased):

1. What about your experiences or background will make UPenn more diverse?
2. What piece of art or literature most inspired you to go to law school?
3. What about Penn will help you accomplish your 5 year plan after law school?

For various reasons I don't want to answer questions 2 or 3, which leaves question 1. Although I'm a white male, I spent time growing up in Indonesia and Cambodia, was an exchange student in India, took a gap-year prior to college to volunteer in Mexico, was a left-wing activist in college, and served 4 years as an Army Officer, so I have some "diverse" experiences I could write about.

My questions for the forum are:

1. Is it insulting/inappropriate/risky to call myself "diverse" because of such experiences?
2. Am I better off just making something up for one of the other questions?
3. If it is not insulting/inappropriate and I can write a good essay for UPenn, does it make sense to submit that essay as a "diversity statement" for other law schools (Yale, Harvard, Chicago, etc.)?

Thanks.

pkrtbx

New

Re: Diversity Statement for non-URM

Post by pkrtbx » Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:01 pm

oliver_h wrote: 1. Is it insulting/inappropriate/risky to call myself "diverse" because of such experiences?