should i still go to law school or sit out for min 2 years Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

take job vs go to law school

take job
48%
go to law school
52%

Total votes: 23

diane23

New

should i still go to law school or sit out for min 2 years

Post by diane23 » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:26 am

out of sheer 0L summer boredom, i went to some rotary event and chilled with my girlfriend's ex-boss's husband who is a big deal at a big bank (ml). we got to talking about how i was going to law school and i was telling him how shitty everything is and that i'm worried i'll be making 40k after 3 years of education. he told me to apply as a financial adviser even though i have a degree in english and know jack shit about finance.

i applied maybe a week ago, took a few borderline retarded tests, emailed the guy and told him i applied, and after a few interviews got an offer. it is kinda messed up because they let you "choose" how much you want to make, ~45 or ~60 a year based on howmuch you think you can bring in. basically, i think all you do is cold call and try and manage rich peoples money for money - it is a terrible fucking job - but with some upward mobility if you're a grinder and a smooth dude.

my other option is law school. now i don't want to out myself too hard but w/e. i committed to a regional school in Texas that is ranked in the 50's but is not baylor... tuition will cost me under 35k for all three years (pretty sig scholarship + in-state) and i figure living expenses will be another ~25k because i plan on living at home for 2L or 3L. another factor is that my scholarship is a lot bigger the first year. i don't plan on transferring but if i am lucky enough i will do it without even considering.