UK student L.S.A.C first year grades? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Trimmie

New

UK student L.S.A.C first year grades?

Post by Trimmie » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:33 am

Im currently an undergraduate in England studying LLB Law. I wish to go to a top 10 school, my dream would be Stanford.

I was just wondering when apply, would it matter that my undergraduate is in law? (as I want to do the JD, and not the LLM, because i want a permanent career in the states)

And also do L.S.A.C look at first year grades, as in the U.K these don't count to our overall degree classification, it simply doesn't count.

If they do is there any chance i could get around this, or will they just take my first year marks into consideration?

Thanks guys! :D

88rabbits

New

Re: UK student L.S.A.C first year grades?

Post by 88rabbits » Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:01 am

I'm an international applicant this year who completed undergrad in a commonwealth country (but not the UK), so i know a little about this. LSAC will take your grades of all your classes, even if they don't count in your institution/country. But as an international applicant, you will not receive a LSAC GPA. Instead, LSAC generates a report for international transcripts where they will place the overall quality of your transcript within one of 4 categories (Superior, above average, average, below average). They will also give you a "grade average", which for me was a letter grade of your transcript (for instance, if by there calculation you have an average of 'B' through a your courses, this will be marked with just a letter 'B'). Depending on whether your institution publishes class ranks or other GPA figures on their official transcripts, these might also be included in the LSAC report (my institution didn't so these were all left blank.)