Advice for International Student Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
gursher

New

Advice for International Student

Post by gursher » Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:12 pm

hey.. I am an international student from india at a college in ohio. I am a senior doin my BBA in finance. I am interested in law school.. Can anyone advice wht are the chances of an international students getting into law school in US ?? also can international students settle make a handsome earning with law degree in US??? any thoughts or ideas please..

tvt86

New

Re: Advice for International Student

Post by tvt86 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:30 pm

The chances of getting in to a law school as an international student are pretty similar to getting in as a domestic student. There are no additional barriers for you, especially given that you'll have a US GPA from your undergrad. There may be certain rules that affect your ability to claim 'in-state' status if you apply to state schools in Ohio, but those would present the same issues as they would to a student from another US state who's attending undergrad in Ohio.

And yes, in theory, there are ways to settle here as an international student and to make a good living. Be warned, however, that legal jobs are hard to come by for everyone in the current economy. Also be aware that as a foreigner, employers will have to jump through significantly more hoops to hire you than they will to hire a citizen or permanent resident. This means you'll probably need to be significantly better than the American competition to get a job. Also, once you have a work visa, there will be more hoops for you and your employer to jump through if you want to settle here permanently.

So in summary, getting into law school won't be a problem. Getting a job and settling are possible, but be prepared for a battle.

gursher

New

Post by gursher » Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:22 pm