Diversity Statement for overcoming Economic Challenges Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
niederbomb

Silver

Diversity Statement for overcoming Economic Challenges

Post by niederbomb » Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:45 am

I am not URM. While my family isn't quite trailer trash, I do think my background is different than that of most of my peers with a similar GPA and LSAT score applying to T10 law schools.

Basically, my parents made under $15,000 a year for a family of 9 children, and we were even homeless for a year when I was 9. I spent most of my cognizant years on a farm in the boondocks, and I didn't even attend a real school before college, or even have any real friends outside my family until college.

I know DS's are usually reserved for URM's, but I'm wondering if there's any benefit for me including one as well since many law schools say to write one for "economic hardship."

I don't expect it to be a game changer, but I am 1 point below the LSAT median at Chicago and NYU (and significantly above their GPA medians), so having a small boost worth 1 LSAT point wouldn't be a bad thing.

ItsMyTimeBoston

Bronze

Re: Diversity Statement for overcoming Economic Challenges

Post by ItsMyTimeBoston » Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:27 am

You should definitely write one. They are not reserved for URMs. There is much to be said about overcoming economic hardships.

niederbomb

Silver

Post by niederbomb » Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:40 am

ItsMyTimeBoston wrote:You should definitely write one. They are not reserved for URMs. There is much to be said about overcoming economic hardships.
How about if it's also the topic of my personal statement? Is it redundant then?

My parents gave me some of their past tax returns. Should I attach them as addenda to substantiate my claims?

pwyoung

Bronze

Post by pwyoung » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:02 pm