Summer Classes to Ease My Courseload? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
dm10er

New

Summer Classes to Ease My Courseload?

Post by dm10er » Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:01 pm

I'm a UG transfer student and after talking with my advisor, she recommended either taking 18+ credits per semester to graduate in time or taking summer classes to ease my courseload during the fall/spring. I am considering taking summer classes (and doing research if I can too) but I was wondering if law schools would frown upon this? I don't want to overwhelm myself with a bunch of courses during the school year and risk hurting my GPA so I think this is a reasonable option?

And does it matter if I take community college courses or classes at the public university I currently attend? Tuition is kind of steep here and I transferred from community college so I wouldn't mind it. I'm just worried that it would look like I'm not challenging myself enough by taking community college classes vs public university coursework.

Knock

Platinum

Re: Summer Classes to Ease My Courseload?

Post by Knock » Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:02 pm

dm10er wrote:I'm a UG transfer student and after talking with my advisor, she recommended either taking 18+ credits per semester to graduate in time or taking summer classes to ease my courseload during the fall/spring. I am considering taking summer classes (and doing research if I can too) but I was wondering if law schools would frown upon this? I don't want to overwhelm myself with a bunch of courses during the school year and risk hurting my GPA so I think this is a reasonable option?

And does it matter if I take community college courses or classes at the public university I currently attend? Tuition is kind of steep here and I transferred from community college so I wouldn't mind it. I'm just worried that it would look like I'm not challenging myself enough by taking community college classes vs public university coursework.